Dream Lands 2022 Number One Overall Draft Pick

ATLANTA, GA (April 6, 2022) – The Atlanta Dream have acquired the No. 1 overall pick in the 2022 WNBA Draft from Washington, the team announced today.

In exchange, the Dream sent their 2022 No. 3 overall pick and 2022 No. 14 pick (second round) to the Mystics. Washington also has the right to swap its own 2023 first round pick with the 2023 first round pick Atlanta acquired from Los Angeles earlier this year (received along with Erica Wheeler).

The Dream now hold the No. 1 and the No. 15 pick (second round) in the 2022 WNBA Draft.

Atlanta will pick first in the Draft for only the second time in franchise history. The team’s only other top pick was Angel McCoughtry in 2009, who went on to became Atlanta’s franchise player with five WNBA All-Star appearances, seven WNBA All-Defensive First Team selections and two All-WNBA First Team nods, leading the Dream to all three of the team’s WNBA Finals appearances (2010, 2011, 2013).

The 2022 WNBA Draft Presented by presented by State Farm® will air on ESPN Monday, April 11 at 7:00 p.m. ET. General Manager Dan Padover will be available on the WNBA Pre-Draft Media Conference Call Thursday, April 7 at 2:00 p.m. ET. Details for the call can be found here.


History of first overall picks in WNBA Draft
Year Player School/Club Selecting team
2021 Charli Collier Texas Dallas Wings (from New York via Seattle)
2020 Sabrina Ionescu Oregon New York Liberty
2019 Jackie Young Notre Dame Las Vegas Aces
2018 A’ja Wilson South Carolina Las Vegas Aces
2017 Kelsey Plum Washington San Antonio Stars
2016 Breanna Stewart UConn Seattle Storm
2015 Jewell Loyd Notre Dame Seattle Storm
2014 Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Connecticut Sun
2013 Brittney Griner Baylor Phoenix Mercury
2012 Nneka Ogwumike Stanford Los Angeles Sparks
2011 Maya Moore UConn Minnesota Lynx
2010 Tina Charles UConn Connecticut Sun (from Liberty, via Sparks, via Lynx)
2009 Angel McCoughtry Louisville Atlanta Dream
2008 Candace Parker Tennessee Los Angeles Sparks
2007 Lindsey Harding Duke Phoenix Mercury (to Lynx)
2006 Seimone Augustus LSU Minnesota Lynx
2005 Janel McCarville Minnesota Charlotte Sting
2004 Diana Taurasi UConn Phoenix Mercury
2003 LaToya Thomas Mississippi State Cleveland Rockers
2002 Sue Bird UConn Seattle Storm
2001 Lauren Jackson Canberra Seattle Storm
2000 Ann Wauters Valenciennes Cleveland Rockers
1999 Chamique Holdsclaw Tennessee Washington Mystics
1998 Małgorzata Dydek Poland Utah Starzz
1997 Tina Thompson USC Houston Comets


The Atlanta Dream is a professional women’s basketball team based in Atlanta, Ga. that strives to build a place where our team, our fans and our city come together to represent the community we seek to serve. We enter our 15th year in 2022 with new ownership, new leadership, and a commitment to building the best franchise in the WNBA. We celebrate diversity, represent Atlanta, reward innovation and imagination, and aim to empower women both on and off the court.

The team currently plays home games at the Gateway Center Arena @ College Park and has qualified for the WNBA Playoffs in nine of its first 14 seasons. To learn more about the Dream and purchase 2022 season tickets, mini plans and single game tickets, please visit www.dreamelitemembership.com or call 877-977-7729.